Dream Inspired

June 26, 2010

Since I can remember, the only choices of life were to be with the way of faith or fall into the depths of immortality and loose your soul. I choose to follow God on my journey of life. However, that may all change, because the immortals, vampires are coming for us. This happens every other year that the vampires chase us down and turn us into them. And all we can do is run and pray for dear lord.

Today might be my last day as a human. Tonight they come for us. On this day every year everyone says their goodbyes and prepares for the worst to come. I simply just don’t speak. It will be less painful if people last remembered me smiling and not crying with pain and fear.

Now, I sit in a back room reading the bible for, maybe the last time. I sigh as the pages and words come to an end. I lay it next to me on the tan couch and breathe in the warm smell coming from the fire in front of me.

I began to think, well pray, that if a vampire were to catch me that hopefully they would just kill me and save me the burden of knowing that I could be doing that to someone in the near future. I shake my head as tears stream down my checks once again.

I remember hearing stories about a time when vampires were just an awful myth, a false rumor or tale to everyone’s mind. People used to make movies, books and even dress up as them on Halloween. But those days of care free thoughts of them are over because these days, vampires now run your life in a downward spiral.

There is no comfort left in this day except for the thought of waking up the next day in my little church room. I sigh as I glance up at the clock and watch as the hands tick away to my doom. Five minutes, that’s how much time I have left.

The time seemed to pass in a blink of an eye because now, I’m standing at the front of the church and readying myself to run to the other church, a few miles away. Through the open field to the woods, that’s the first part I need to get through.

In the beginning, it wasn’t quite like this. It started as a surprise visit by the vampires, but over the years it turned into more of a game, kind of like jacks. I’m a jack and the vampires are trying to catch and turn as many people as possible. And no one is safe until you reach the next church. In the past, some have tried to just stay in the first church and not leave until the vampires were gone. But that doesn’t work because they burn the church as a sign of abandonment. Once it’s burning, neither of our kind can go to it. Nowadays, the churches stands in a large field surrounded by forest, worked out to be like a game board with the forest being an obstical and the vampires, the danger.

Dong, dong, the church bells toil out the start of the game. I can feel their chilling presence as they seem to edge closer. Just as the last of twelve dongs ring, I pull my black hood tight over my head and begin to run.

My feet and mind work as close partners as I run straight toward the woods and out of the major danger zone. I need to get there so I’ll be surrounded by weapons against them.

My feet ache and my heart beats uncontrollably. I wonder who’s out already. Out of the field or out of humanity. I don’t worry much because as a precaution, I’ve never gotten close to anyone, not even my family.

Just beside me I can hear screams. I almost, by instinct, want to stop and help, almost. I continue to run oblivious to the things around me. I can only think about my survival now because any hesitation at all could mean my end.

I’m almost there, almost to somewhat safety. If I get to the forest then I have about an hour until the vampires start hunting there. The trees were only a few yards from my feet and I was closing that distance step by step.

I shivered as a gust of wind pulled on my hood and hair. Then a scream broke out that seemed so close to me that it could have been my own. In a moment I realized that scream was mind and that cold gust of wind was a pair of inhuman hands.

Before I could react anymore, I could feel a pressure on my neck and then a stinging pain. This is it, I thought. Goodbye God, family, and humanity. My eyes stinged too, but with tears.

I could feel the cold hands leave me and I took that as I cue to run. My heart beat even faster now and my mind moved in a blur. There is no hope left for me now, I thought. Suddenly, something gripped one of my flailing wrists and turned me around.

Oh no, it‘s not over, he has more in plan for me than I thought. I screamed once again and begged for him to make it quick in a mass of hysterics. He pushed me onto my knees and brushed my hair back, exposing the wound he caused.

Stay very still, don’t move even an inch.” he warned.

I shook with sobs and kept my head down. “Please, kill me now.” I begged.

He shook his head and demanded once again, “Don’t move.” In a graceful twirl he turned around and just before he took off running, he turned his head toward me and looked down at me, with strangely blue eyes. “I’ll be back for you.” Then he was gone just as fast as he said his dreadful promise.

What was I supposed to do now? If I began to run again I could be captured once again and it could be worse. But if I did as he said then I would be seen as an already victim, no one else would attack me. However, If I did stay still, then he would come back for me, with nowhere for me to hide, and well. . . I don’t know what will happen after that. I only have two decisions and each has way more cons than pros.

I squeezed my eyes shut tighter and stayed as still as a tree. I could feel as the chill of a deep night brushed against my eyelids. Without opening my eyes I knew that I was probably the only alive thing out in the field. Vampires usually take their recruits and late night snacks with them. Slowly I opened my eyes and looked at the church which was now just a pile of ruble that still burned slightly.

I breathed in and out slowly as I concentrated on not looking at the ground. There is nowhere to go now, not even the woods. By now, it’s bound to be crawling with monsters other than the boogeyman.

My eyelids began to droop as the night became darker. I was sure that I was alone and that I was in no danger of being killed right here. I laid my head against the soft grass and listened to the soundtrack of September animals and weather.

All thoughts of sleep were interrupted though, when I heard footsteps. I groaned mentally because all I wanted to do right now was sleep, which I haven’t done in about three days.

The steps came closer and I became more scared than irritated.  My heart pounded and i was beginning to mentally freak out. I didn’t let it show though. I causality and calmly turned until my hood fell over my head and hid my identity.

Leave a Reply

